Free Rainbow Tables | Forum

Home of the Distributed Generator and Cracker
It is currently 24 Apr 2014, 20:34

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 04 Apr 2012, 10:53 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: 11 Oct 2007, 21:17
Posts: 1618
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Crash wrote:
still not receiving any gpu tasks. evem tried updating to the latest version of catalyst to ensure i have opencl drivers installed. have test app checked off in the prefs along with use ATI GPU. ATI HD3600 series card. v7.0.2x boinc client.

4/4/2012 2:12:02 AM | DistrRTgen | update requested by user
4/4/2012 2:12:04 AM | DistrRTgen | Sending scheduler request: Requested by user.
4/4/2012 2:12:04 AM | DistrRTgen | Requesting new tasks for ATI
4/4/2012 2:12:05 AM | DistrRTgen | Scheduler request completed: got 0 new tasks
4/4/2012 2:12:05 AM | DistrRTgen | No tasks sent
4/4/2012 2:23:08 AM | DistrRTgen | update requested by user
4/4/2012 2:23:10 AM | DistrRTgen | Sending scheduler request: Requested by user.
4/4/2012 2:23:10 AM | DistrRTgen | Requesting new tasks for ATI
4/4/2012 2:23:13 AM | DistrRTgen | Scheduler request completed: got 0 new tasks
4/4/2012 2:23:13 AM | DistrRTgen | No tasks sent


http://www.primegrid.com/forum_thread.php?id=3125

Looks like HD 3xxx doesn't support OpenCL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: 04 Apr 2012, 11:41 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Apr 2012, 11:41 
Offline
Guesser

Joined: 28 Oct 2011, 21:55
Posts: 38
well nuts, cant get my xp machine with the HD5450 to run boinc v7, just sits on the connecting to localhost and tells me it restarted 3 or more times in 3 min error msg. and cant reach the operator of the machine with the HD4350/4550 card to see if he managed to get boinc v7 installed. once i either get either of those running v7 i post if they are getting task, but just as discribed in that post primgrid task do error with HD3600 series card. but unlike primgrid this project isnt even sending them to my machine to error out.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Apr 2012, 11:55 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: 11 Oct 2007, 21:17
Posts: 1618
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Crash wrote:
but just as discribed in that post primgrid task do error with HD3600 series card. but unlike primgrid this project isnt even sending them to my machine to error out.


The post describes how PrimeGrid incorrectly sends out OpenCL work to non-OpenCL capable graphics cards (ATI CAL only) because of a misconfiguration in the BOINC server. Our server is configured properly and doesn't send out work to those non-OpenCL clients


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2012, 21:19 
Offline
Guesser

Joined: 28 Oct 2011, 21:55
Posts: 38
getting ATI tasks on 1 machine now. removed the HD36xx series card and put in a HD6450, its getting tasks, new twist. need vista or win7 to have opencl support so thats why my 2 xp machines with compatible cards arent getting any tasks after changing the boinc client to v7, they no longer have a usable GPU according to boinc but did have usable GPUs when on v6.x

found the vista/win7 requirement here

http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK ... ility.aspx

pretty sure i read it correctly but if xp supports openCL anyone have any ideas how i can make boinc see the HD4350/4550 and HD5450 on my xp machines let me know pls.

*Edit*
really unsure why its not working on the xp machines as copycat said in a post "XP pro 32bit" so that indicates to me it should work on my machines as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2012, 22:02 
Offline
Shoulder Surfer

Joined: 02 Apr 2012, 13:40
Posts: 11
Which ATI driver version are you using on these XP machines?

I know that since version 12.2 ATI drivers for XP don't support CAL anymore. I've tried version 12.2 with my HD 5850 on a XP 32 bit machine and found BOINC refusing to use my graphics card with a no usable GPU found error. Reinstalling version 12.1 solved that issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2012, 22:20 
Offline
Guesser

Joined: 28 Oct 2011, 21:55
Posts: 38
Senilix wrote:
Which ATI driver version are you using on these XP machines?

I know that since version 12.2 ATI drivers for XP don't support CAL anymore. I've tried version 12.2 with my HD 5850 on a XP 32 bit machine and found BOINC refusing to use my graphics card with a no usable GPU found error. Reinstalling version 12.1 solved that issue.



wicked, thanks for that, going to give that a go.

*Edit*
Worked Senillix thanks for that info


Last edited by Crash on 07 Apr 2012, 01:09, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2012, 22:51 
Offline
Guesser

Joined: 24 Aug 2011, 20:30
Posts: 21
Copycat-Digital wrote:
I guess the first ATI task are in Alpha stage

I ran 3 on a HD5850 (OCd to 850MHz) Dual core Win XP pro 32 and the completed in 65 minutes.
I could only get tasks when I upgraded Boinc Manager from 6.10.58 to 7.0.20
Compared to Moo on the same machine it produce only 66% credits
Moo= 3.28 cr/sec
Distr= 2.26 cr/sec
GPU usage running at 98% but it was running a lot cooler than Moo 72 Deg C to 63 Deg C at Distr

On a second PC a quad Win XP Pro 32 with a HD6750 it completed in 120 minutes.
I noticed it's running only @ 86% GPU usage but when I freed a CPU core it jumped up to 98% GPU

Hope this info will help to improve the ATI app


I've got a pair of 5830s OCed to 1050Mhz core/DCed 300Mhz mem in an A/C cooled box (window unit with duct into case) that are running 20-25C cooler with DistrRTgen WUs (low 30s) then Moo! (mid 50s) or Donate@Home (low 50s). All run 96-99% utilization. Time wise DistrRTgen WUs are right about ~1 hour each (my GTX 295 has OCed shaders to 1720 and are 1 hour 3 mins. each).

Credit wise:
DistrRTgen...2.43 sec
Moo!...........3.01 sec
D@H...........5.06 sec

Definitely room for optimization. Need 20% improvement to compete with Moo!, and 50% to get to D@H credit levels. Or raise credit on ATI WUs (or all) if optimization can't be improved enough. Otherwise not as many ATIs will crunch here.

And I'm looking forward to this first challenge. Crunch On!

NM*


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Apr 2012, 01:15 
Offline
Guesser

Joined: 28 Oct 2011, 21:55
Posts: 38
with the new opencl would you be able to create an app that used the whole cpu(all cores)+the GPU(s) for a single task? or atleast for AMD CPU+GPU users?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Apr 2012, 13:47 
Offline
Dictionary

Joined: 28 Aug 2011, 13:01
Posts: 63
It's time to prepare for the challenge...

Is it problem on the server side?
Quote:
2012-04-07 13:40:44 | DistrRTgen | update requested by user
2012-04-07 13:40:48 | DistrRTgen | Sending scheduler request: Requested by user.
2012-04-07 13:40:48 | DistrRTgen | Requesting new tasks for CPU and NVIDIA GPU
2012-04-07 13:40:51 | DistrRTgen | Scheduler request failed: Error 403


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Apr 2012, 13:51 
Offline
Shoulder Surfer

Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 02:44
Posts: 3
Ok so it's less than 5hrs to go for the start of the challenge Even Though we switched to BST last month in the UK.. Happy Crunching....

I Have a Question.....

Could someone please explain why I'm getting 32bit Wu's on my 64bit machine
It's bloody annoying when i get the ratio of 3-1 (3 x86 to 1 x64 or if i'm really unlucky all are x86)
My crunching times are going up and down like a bloody YOYO..... Yes I know I won't be Making a Dent
On the big Guns in the challenge But i would like my x64 to get the right work....

Thanks & Good Luck

Regards
THESPEEKER


Last edited by THESPEEKER on 07 Apr 2012, 15:37, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Apr 2012, 15:06 
Offline
Shoulder Surfer

Joined: 03 Dec 2011, 02:30
Posts: 13
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Can you synchronize clock in your server? Based on time here http://boinc.freerainbowtables.com/dist ... status.php yours clock is little late

Greenwich timer: http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Apr 2012, 15:45 
Offline
Total Hash Enlightenment

Joined: 15 Jul 2009, 22:38
Posts: 1486
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
sesef wrote:
Can you synchronize clock in your server? Based on time here http://boinc.freerainbowtables.com/dist ... status.php yours clock is little late

Greenwich timer: http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/


fixed...the ntp daemon had started trying only ipv6 servers it couldn't reach


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Apr 2012, 15:46 
Offline
Total Hash Enlightenment

Joined: 15 Jul 2009, 22:38
Posts: 1486
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
THESPEEKER wrote:
Ok so it's less than 5hrs to go for the start of the challenge Even Though we switched to BST last month in the UK.. Happy Crunching....

I Have a Question.....

Could someone please explain why I'm getting 32bit Wu's on my 64bit machine
It's bloody annoying when i get the ratio of 3-1 (3 x86 to 1 x64 or if i'm really unlucky all are x86)
My crunching times are going up and down like a bloody YOYO..... Yes I know I won't be Making a Dent
On the big Guns in the challenge But i would like my x64 to get the right work....

Thanks & Good Luck

Regards
THESPEEKER


http://boinc.freerainbowtables.com/dist ... p=true#363


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Apr 2012, 18:30 
Offline
Dictionary

Joined: 28 Aug 2011, 13:01
Posts: 63
@PowerBlade, @quel:

This was the best start I can remember! After 30 min I'm full.

Congratulations!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Apr 2012, 18:51 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: 11 Oct 2007, 21:17
Posts: 1618
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Robert7NBI wrote:
@PowerBlade, @quel:

This was the best start I can remember! After 30 min I'm full.

Congratulations!


Thanks for the note. We had to limit the # of WU's handed out per request to make sure everyone could get work at the start.
I like the graph that shows how many WUs were handed out :)


Attachments:
wu_handedout_platform.png
wu_handedout_platform.png [ 15.09 KiB | Viewed 35320 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group